Dreamy Inspiration

Sometimes, after waking from a particularly vivid dream, I feel like something is missing. I’ll find myself reaching for objects that aren’t there, trying to accomplish tasks that are beyond my ability, and searching for thought processes that I’m sure I was thinking just a moment ago, though I don’t know what they are. I just feel my mind reaching for something and whenever it isn’t able to grasp it, I find myself feeling confused and sad, like I’ve lost something important.

I have come to suspect that my mind is looking for creation, the power of changing the world around me to create something more that is only possible to attain in a dream. When nothing changes, that is when I realize what I am doing. The realization doesn’t end the feeling, though. Instead, it intensifies as I actively search for it along with my subconscious.

The lure of writing grabs me best at such times. Throughout the day, all I will want to do is write as I go to classes or work and run errands. I spend the day as though I am still dreaming and the world around me becomes secondary. It is times like this that I understand how some people could become lost in their dreams. When dreams become so similar to, or even take precedence over, reality, it is hard to break free. So I just take advantage of my extreme introversion at such times and use my wildest imaginings as inspiration.

One thought on “Dreamy Inspiration

  1. parentingalive says:

    Wow, do I know this feeling deeply! I heard someone great say something recently about how every night we die when we go to sleep and recreate ourselves over and over. I also wake in the morning every day just dying to get writing and return to it again and again throughout the day.

    I’m excited to hear you’re goal is to be an Editor for a Publishing Company – what a beautiful dream. Hope you are well on your way to that and pursuing it bit by bit each day.

Leave a Reply

